A formal invitation was sent during early autumn of 2005 to a select group of individuals who worked in various roles supporting the dairy industry. The objective of the invitation was to convene a group representing different sectors of the dairy industry including academia, dairy veterinarians, dairy producers, and commercial companies to create a national forum and organization devoted to improving fertility in dairy cattle. That inaugural forum occurred October 17-18, 2005 in the Sheraton Westport Hotel in St. Louis, MO. To the best of our knowledge, the individuals who spearheaded this founding forum were Drs. Austin Belschner, Fred Moreira, William Thatcher, Jim Lauderdale, Jose Santos, Gary Heinrich, and Ellen Jordan. Travel and associated costs were supported generously by Pfizer Animal Health.

Preliminary Vision
The vision for this potential organization was to increase adoption of reproductive technologies by dairy producers to counteract the observed decrease in dairy cattle fertility. The objective of this organization was to promote direct communication between those who develop technology and products (researchers, consultants, and commercial companies) and those who would benefit from such technology (dairy practitioners and producers). The initial plan was to emulate a successful model organization such as the National Mastitis Council (NMC). We ultimately believed this organization could become the main source of information, reproductive technology, and management recommendations for the dairy industry.

Results of the Organizational First Meeting
According to the newly formed By-Laws in 2005, the new organization became known as the Dairy Cattle Reproduction Council (DCRC). Later, in September of 2014, the Officers and Board proposed to amend the By-Laws to include new verbiage about responsibilities of election officers, board members, and committees, in addition to election procedures. These amended By-Laws were approved by a vote of DCRC members at the annual meeting held in Salt Lake City in November 2014. The DCRC was granted legal status in August 2014, as a public charity under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. A $5,000 gift to the DCRC by the American Association of Dairy Science (ADSA) provided the necessary funding for the pursuit of this legal status. In making this possible, we thank then current ADSA board member, Geoffrey Dahl, for his successful advocacy to the ADSA Board in behalf of the DCRC.

Jeffrey Stevenson and William Thatcher wrote “Ten years of DCRC: Where we’ve been and challenges for the next 10 years.”  Check out the paper in its entirety, and the corresponding presentation.

Past Presidents:

Ronaldo Cerri – University of British Columbia – 2017 to 2018

Jose Santos – University of Florida – 2006 to 2007

Ray Nebel – Select Sires – 2007 to 2008

Matt Lucy – University of Missouri – 2008 to 2009

Ricardo Chebel – University of Florida – 2009 to 2010

Gene Boomer – Church & Dwight – 2010 to 2011

Tom Bailey – Elanco – 2011 to 2012

Jeff Stevenson – Kansas State University – 2012 to 2013

Neil Michael – Arm and Hammer – 2013 to 2014

Joe Dalton – University of Idaho – 2014 to 2015

Stephen LeBlanc – University of Guelph – 2015 to 2016

Todd Bilby – Merck Animal Health – 2016 to 2017